Salta el menu

Language menu

Nine homegrown champions

Top of page


Link to related content


11.07.2010 23:12

Nine homegrown champions

Roger Bogunyà / Jesús Carrillo

Nine players from CF Barcelona’s famed youth academy have helped Spain to win the World Cup on Sunday night as they defeated Holland to lift the trophy for the first time.

La Masia has produced a host of stars in recent seasons and now Víctor Valdés, Pepe Reina, Carles Puyol, Gerard Piqué, Sergio Busquets, Xavi, Andrés iniesta, Cesc Fàbregas and Pedro have all reached the highest level in the game.

Busquets.JPGFrom the fourth tier: Pedro, 23, and Busquets, 22, were both playing in La Tercera (the Spanish fourth división) just two years ago and have risen with incredible speed to become world champions.

Xavi_i_Puyol.JPGFull house of medals: Three Barça players have now won every trophy available to them with Xavi; Iniesta and Puyol having added to the European Championships and the six triumphs with Barça last year.

Xavi_i_Bommel.JPGDouble glory: Xavi, Iniesta and Puyol are the only three Barça players to have won the European Championships in 2008 and the World Cup in 2010.
Champions before or after
Below is a list of players that won the World Cup either before or after playing for FC Barcelona:

Héctor Scarone (Uruguay)
Diego A. Maradona (Argentina)
Lilian Thuram (France)
Thierry Henry (France)
Emmanuel Petit (France)
Laurent Blanc (France)
Christophe Dugarry (France)
Ronaldo (Brazil)
Edmilson (Brazil)
Ronaldinho (Brazil)
Belletti (Brazil)
Gianluca Zambrotta (Italy)
César Luis Menotti-coach (Argentina)

Share with

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

Football News

Season 10-11

View full content

Official sponsors

Copyright - FCBarcelona | Legal Terms | Buy tickets FC Barcelona | This is the FC Barcelona official website

Follow us on: Facebook | Twitter | Youtube | RSS

Back to top
Top of page