Salta el menu

Language menu

Four Barça players in WC best player list

Top of page


Link to related content


09.07.2010 13:30

Four Barça players in WC best player list

FC Barcelona stars Xavi, Andrés Iniesta, David Villa and Lionel Messi have been nominated for the 2010 World Cup Golden Ball award that is given to the player of the tournament.

The quartet are among ten names, that also included Bastian Schweinsteiger, Mesut Ozil, Diego Forlán, Asamoah Gyan, Wesley Sneijder and Arjen Robben.

Bayern pair

Espanya-Paraguai_1.JPGBarça are the best represented club in the list, despite FIFA still stating that Villa is a Valencia player when naming the candidates, and Bayern Munich are second with their duo of Schweinsteiger and Robben.

Atlético de Madrid are the other Spanish league club to have a player nominated in Forlán.

Sunday announcement

The name of the winning player will be announced after the final between the Netherlands and Spain on Sunday evening.
Previous winners
2006 Zinedine Zidane
2002 Oliver Kahn
1998 Ronaldo
1994 Romário
1990 Salvatore Schilaci
1986 Diego A. Maradona
1982 Paolo Rossi

Share with

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

Football News

Season 10-11

View full content

Official sponsors

Copyright - FCBarcelona | Legal Terms | Buy tickets FC Barcelona | This is the FC Barcelona official website

Follow us on: Facebook | Twitter | Youtube | RSS

Back to top
Top of page