Salta el menu

Language menu

Guardiola makes history

Top of page


Link to related content


09.02.2011 13:59

Guardiola makes history

Sandra Sarmiento

The Catalan is to become the fourth longest serving Barcelona manager after Cruyff, Greenwell and Frank Rijkaard.

7 coaches in 25 years. Two coaches in a decade. That is a solid model. And it works. Such stability has produced titles and attracted the best players to perform under the best possible managers this club could have. That was the case with Cruyff, and again with Rijkaard and now with Guardiola, whose extended contract now means he will have coached the side for four consecutive seasons, the same as Fernando Daucik and Rinus Michels.

Cruyff tops the list

CRUYFF-ENTRENADOR.jpgJohan Cruyff is the club’s longest serving manager. He was here from 1988 to 1996. Those were marvellous years in which the Dream Team won 4 leagues in a row and also the first ever European Cup for the club in 1992. The world delighted with that amazing side, with probably the finest trio of foreigners in the world in Stoichkov, Laudrup and Koeman as well as a solid foundation of mainly Catalan and Basque players.

Greenwell, seven years

Jack Greenwell was the very first official manager employed by Barça. The Englishman was in charge from 1917 to 1924 and won two Spanish Cups and 5 Catalan Championships.

Rijkaard, a modern manager

RIJKAARD_TENCATE.jpgCruyff’s legacy was continued seven year later by another Dutchman in Frank Rijkaard, who quietly and calmly assembled a team based around such incredible players as Eto’o, Ronaldinho and Deco. He added further trophies to the club’s collection in the form of two leagues and one Champions League in his five years with the club.

Guardiola glorious period

Rijkaard left the club in June 2008, but his work was continued by Pep Guardiola. In his two years at the club he has overseen the transformation of FC Barcelona into one of the best football teams the world has ever seen. The world has watched in awe as they have stormed to eight different titles, with many of the players having been produced by the club itself at La Masia.
Guardiola makes history
Managers with most consecutive seasons
Johan Cruyff (1988-1996)
Jack Greenwell (1917-1924)
Frank Rijkaard (2003-2008)
Pep Guardiola (2008-2012)
Ferdinand Daucik (1950-1954)
Marinus Michels (1971-1975)

Share with

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

Football News

Official sponsors

Copyright - FCBarcelona | Legal Terms | Buy tickets FC Barcelona | This is the FC Barcelona official website

Follow us on: Facebook | Twitter | Youtube | RSS

Back to top
Top of page