Skip menu

Main menu

Content menu

Top of page


Link to related content


04.12.2009 11:16

Barça’s Riazor drought

David Puig

FC Barcelona have not won at Riazor for four seasons and have only won on four occasions since Deportivo de La Coruña were promoted back to the top flight in 1991-92.

ruiz3.jpgPep Guardiola will be hoping his side can end their barren spell at the Galicians' home ground as the Blaurgana take on Miguel Ángel Lotina's team on Saturday evening. The last time Barça won there was in the 2004-05 campaign when Ludovic Giuly netted the winner. Since then there have been three draws and a defeat for the Catalan outfit.

Last time out

AMY30D03.130.jpgBarça's last visit to Riazor was at the end of last term when there was little to play for and both sides shared the spoils with Samuel Eto'o scoring for the visitors. Botía and Abraham both played for Guardiola's team that day.

Losing streak

web_11.jpgSince Depor ended an 18-year spell out of la Primera in 1991-92, Barça have only won there four times and endured six consecutive defeats between the 1997-98 campaign and 2002-03.

In the 39 games the two teams have played at Riazor, Barça have won just 12 with ten games being drawn and Depor triumphing 17 times. Despite that the Blaugrana have scored 57 goals to their opponents' 51.
Barça’s Riazor drought
Emphatic wins
One particular game between Barça and Depor stands out as the visitors to Riazor recorded an emphatic 0-7 scoreline in the 1955-56 campaign when Franz Platko was in charge. The following year, with Doménec Balmanya coaching Barça, they won 1-6. In those two matches Ladislao Kubala scored five of the team's 13 goals.

Share with

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

Football News

Back to top
Top of page