Skip menu

Main menu

Content menu

Top of page


Link to related content


01.12.2009 10:35

The ninth Ballon d'Or for Barça


The fact that FC Barcelona is one of the best football teams in the world is amply illustrated by the roll call of legendary footballers who have graced the team during the Club’s 110 year history.

Many of these great players have received the ultimate individual accolade - the Golden Ball award. This year the award came to Leo Messi – the ninth time a Barça player has won the Golden Ball but only the eighth individual to do so as Johann Cruyff won it twice.

Suárez and Cruyff

SxREZ-PILOTA_DxOR_1960.jpgThe first Barça player to take the award was Luis Suárez, in 1960, the first and only Spanish player to receive the award. In the 70’s, Johan Cruyff won the golden Ball in 1971, 1973 and 1974, the last two while playing for Barça. He shares the distinction of winning the Golden Ball three times with Michel Platini and Marco Van Basten.

The 90’s belong to Barça

BARxA-SPARTAK_x16-3-94x_-_9.jpgIn 1994, the Golden Ball was won by Barça’s Bulgarian striker Hristo Stoitchkov and just three years later it went to an unstoppable Brazilian called Ronaldo (he actually received the award after he’d moved to Inter). In 2002, he won again but this time as a Real Madrid player.

Finally, in 1999, Rivaldo became the second Brazilian in the Club’s history to win.

Figo and Ronaldinho

RONALDINHO_-_2005.jpgIn 2000, Luis Figo won the award but by that time had already moved to Real Madrid. Then in 2005, an overwhelming majority choose Ronaldinho.

Now, four years later, France Football has chosen Leo Messi.
The ninth Ballon d'Or for Barça

To view this content you need the latest version of the Flash Player

Barça’s champions
1960 Luis Suárez (Barça)
1973 Johan Cruyff (Ajax/Barça)
1974 Johan Cruyff (Barça)
1994 Hristo Stoitchkov (Barça)
1997 Ronaldo (Barça/Inter)
1999 Rivaldo (Barça)
2000 Luis Figo (Barça/Madrid)
2005 Ronaldinho (Barça)
2009 Leo Messi (Barça)

Share with

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

Football News

Back to top
Top of page