Skip menu

Main menu

Content menu

Top of page


Link to related content


16.11.2009 13:19

Messi wins Onze d’Or award


The Argentine star has added yet another prestigious award to his growing list of individual honours. And with ten nominations, Barça provided the largest group of nominees.

French football magazine Onze Mondial has named Leo Messi as the best player of 2009. Despite his youth, Messi's collection of individual awards is impressive. And he is hotly tipped to take this year’s Golden Ball and FIFA World Player in December.

Last season, he was chosen as the best player in the Champions League (by UEFA, and by magazines Marca and La Gazzetta dello Sport) and best player in the league.

Barça dominate

2009-11-10_MESSI_TROFEO_10.JPGOther Barça players nominated were: Valdés, Alves, Piqué, Puyol, Touré, Xavi, Iniesta, Ibrahimovic and Henry. Once again, FC Barcelona had more players nominated than any other club – 10 out of 57. Behind Barça came Manchester United with 8 nominations.
Messi wins Onze d’Or award
Last winners
2008 C. Ronaldo (Man. Utd)
2007 Kaká (Milan)
2006 Thierry Henry (Arsenal)
2005 Ronaldinho (Barça)
2004 Didier Drogba (Chelsea)
2003 Thierry Henry (Arsenal)
2002 Ronaldo (Madrid)
2001 Zinedine Zidane (Madrid)
2000 Zinedine Zidane (Juve)
1999 Rivaldo (Barça)
1998 Zinedine Zidane (Juve)
1997 Ronaldo (Inter)
1996 Éric Cantona (Man. Utd)
1995 George Weah (Milan)
1994 Romario (Barça)
1993 Roberto Baggio (Juve)
1992 Hristo Stoichkov (Barça)

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

Football News

Back to top
Top of page