Skip menu

Main menu

Content menu

Top of page


Link to related content


26.10.2009 20:59

Barca players pick up awards at LFP ceremony


Barca players were the big winners at LFP awards ceremony held on Monday evening, with five of the team plus manager Pep Guardiola named as the best in Spain from last season.

Alves, Xavi, Iniesta, Messi, Sergio Busquets and Josep Guardiola were all given awards at the first edition of the LFP Awards Gala held in Madrid on Monday evening for their brilliant performances in the 2008-09 season. A committee of players, coaches and ex-players voted on the awards. Joan Laporta,Txiki Begiristain and External Relations Director Manel Estiarte accompanied the Barca players at the ceremony.

Barca players dominate

foto_familia_gala_2.JPGAfter last season's brilliant triple winning accomplishments, the players are now receiving their individual awards. First it was the UEFA Awards in August and on Monday the domestic trophies. Leo Messi was voted the Player of the Season in the Spanish League and also won the Best Striker award ahead of Diego Forlan and David Villa.

Dani Alves was voted Defender of the Year ahead of his teammate Gerad Pique and the ex-Valencia centre half Albiol who signed for Madrid in the summer. The award for best midfielder went to Xavi Hernandez ahead of Toure and Lass Diarrá. Attacking Midfielder of the Year was Andrés Iniesta with Santi Cazorla of Villarreal and Valencia's Juan Mata also in contention. Between the sticks, Iker Casillas took the award as best keeper, ahead of Víctor Valdés and Diego López of Villarreal.

Guardiola and Busquets also honooured

foto_familia_gala_1.JPGThere was no surprise in the name of the Manager of the Season, with Pep Guardiola duly awarded for his brilliant debut season. In his absence, Manel Estiarte picked up the award. Sergio Busquets was the other award winner from the team, picking up the Best Newcomer trophy ahead of Apoño of Málaga and Lassad of Deportivo.

Images: Valentí Enrich
Images: Valentí Enrich

To view this content you need the latest version of the Flash Player

Víctor Valdés picks up the Zamora Trophy
In another ceremony held in Madrid, Victor Valdes was awarded the Zamora Trophy as the keeper conceding least goals in the 08-09 season. The ceremony, organised by the “Marca” sports daily also saw Guardiola awarded the Miguel Muñoz Trophy as last season's best manager. The award was collected on Guardiola's behalf by club Vice-President Rafael Yuste.

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

Football News

Back to top
Top of page