Skip menu

Main menu

Content menu

Top of page


Link to related content


17.03.2010 22:40

Only Barça and Man Utd in the last 6 seasons

Roger Bogunyà

Qualification for the Champions League quarterfinals is quite a success, even for Barça. They are only the second reigning champions to go through to the quarterfinals in the past six seasons.

The only other team to make it through to the quarterfinals as reigning champions since the 2004/05 season is Manchester United, who lost to Barça in last year’s final. This is what happened to the remaining CL winners:

2004/05: Surprise winners Porto lost out to Inter in the R16.

2005/06: Liverpool, who were crowned kings of Europe after coming back from a three-goal halftime deficit, lost to Benfica, also in the R116.

2006/07: After winning the title in Paris, Rijkaard’s team was knocked out by Liverpool – once again in the R16.

2007/08: Reigning champions Milan, lose to Arsenal - in the R16.

2008/09: Manchester United overcome the R16 jinx and reach the final, where they are defeated 2-0 by Barça.

2009/10: Barça also clear the R16 hurdle and go through to the quarterfinals.

Four group winners knocked out

2010-03-17_PARTIDO_13.JPGBarça has done especially well to reach the quarterfinals given that four of the eight group winners have been knocked out at the same stage. Real Madrid were knocked out by Lyon, Fiorentina by Bayern Munich, Sevilla by CSKA and Chelsea by Inter. It’s clear that playing the second leg at home is no guarantee.
Only Barça and Man Utd in the last 6 seasons
Champions League draw
The draw for the quarterfinals and semi-finals of the Champions League will take place at 12 noon on Friday in Nyon (Switzerland).

Share with

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

Football News

Back to top
Top of page