Skip menu

Main menu

Content menu

Top of page


Link to related content


20.01.2010 11:59

Barça dominate UEFA.com vote


Visitors to UEFA.com have chosen 6 Barça players and manager Pep Guardiola for “The Team of the Year 2009”. Once again Barça has swept aside the competition.

More than 4 million votes were cast by 320,000 users (an increase of 30% on last year). The team of the year contains 6 Barça players who last year won 6 titles.

6 players and the manager

2009-09-19_WEB_12.JPGDaniel Alves and Carles Puyol were chosen in defence, Xavi Hernández and Andrés Iniesta in midfield and Lionel Messi and summer signing Zlatan Ibrahimović in attack. Josep Guardiola was chosen as best manager, coinciding with the announcement that he was extending his contract for another year.

Two years in a row

2009-12-12_PARTIDO_02.jpgThree of the six Barça players, Carles Puyol, Xavi Hernández and Leo Messi, were also chosen in the 2008 vote. For Leo Messi it’s yet another accolade to add to the Golden Ball and the FIFA World Player, among many others.
Barça dominate UEFA.com vote
Team of the year 2009
Iker Casillas (Real Madrid CF); Daniel Alves (FC Barcelona), John Terry (Chelsea FC), Carles Puyol (FC Barcelona), Patrice Evra (Manchester United FC); Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid CF), Xavi Hernández (FC Barcelona), Kaká (Real Madrid CF), Andrés Iniesta (FC Barcelona); Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona), Zlatan Ibrahimović (FC Barcelona and Sweden). Manager: Josep Guardiola (FC Barcelona).

Share with

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

Football News

Back to top
Top of page