Skip menu

Main menu

Content menu

Top of page


Link to related content


28.08.2008 12:25

‘La liga’ managers

Edgar Fornós

Guardiola is about to make his debut in ‘la Liga’ with FC Barcelona. Márquez, with Espanyol and Muñiz with Racing de Santander will also debut in the First Division.

lopezmuxiz.JPGThe new season begins and, like every year the movement on the bench is classical. On this occasion there are three managers who are new to ‘la Liga’: Josep Guardiola, at the reins of a Barça that will go out to win the title, Bartolomé Márquez, at Espanyol, where he worked as Valverde’s assistant last year, and Juan Ramon López Muñiz, who will lead Racing in their European debut.

Veterans and foreigners

Eleven managers continue at the helm of the same club as last year. Emphasis: Javier Aguirre, who will play in the Champions’ League this year with Atletico Madrid, Paco Chaparro, at Betis where he will continue motivating in his own particular style, or Manuel Pellegrini, with Villarreal, who also has the honour of being the manager with most consecutive seasons managing the same team in the Spanish league.

noticiavictor.jpgThis manager is on the list of foreign coaches in the championship, along with Bernd Schuster, Sergio Kresic, who debuted with Numancia, and Javier Aguirre. As for changing sides, Unai Emery, from Almeria to Valencia stands out along with Victor Muñoz, from Huelva a Getafe, or Gonzalo Arconada, from Soria to Almeria.

Bets on people from within

It’s the first time in many years that the league clubs count on homegrown managers. On the other hand, apart from Josep Guardiola, there are four more managers who came through the ranks of the club they are now training: Márquez-Espanyol, Ziganda-Osasuna and Manolo Jiménez-Seville

Comings and goings, like every season, what will definitely remain is the emotion for the league that is about to begin.
‘La liga’ managers
Newcomers to the benches
There are eight managers who take over new teams: Josep Guardiola (FC Barceloa), Unai Emery (Valencia), Bartolomé Márquez (RCD Espanyol), Víctor Muñoz (Getafe), Gonzalo Arconada (Almeria), Sergio Kresic (Numancia), Antonio Tapia (Malaga) and Juan Ramon Muñiz (Racing).

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

Football News

Back to top
Top of page