Skip menu

Main menu

Content menu

Top of page


Link to related content

Euro 2008

29.06.2008 22:50

Xavi, Iniesta and Puyol, champions of Europe


The three Barça players have become European champions after Spain beat Germany 1-0 to win their first title since 1964. Xavi, Iniesta and Puyol were key players in the final and throughout the competition.

The final of the 13th European Championship between Germany and Spain kicked off at 8.45 pm on Sunday with Iniesta, Puyol and Xavi in Luis Aragonés’s starting XI.
Right from when Roberto Rosetti got the game underway both sides were looking to get forward, though Germany had the best of the play in the first 15 minutes with Casillas being forced to make fine save from Schweinsteiger.

Spain strikes

espanya_2.jpgThen Spain started to get more into the game with Torres hitting the post, Capdevila having a shot and a drive from Cesc which tested the German’s goalkeeper, Lehman. Then in the 32nd minute Torres made it 1-0 to Spain, latching onto a superb pass from Xavi into space and using strength, speed and skill to get past Lahm and chip the ball over Lehman into the German goal.

Casillas tested

Spain began the second half with a wave of attacks which the Germans did well to repel. Then they went on the offensive themselves with half an hour left, and both Ballack and Kuranyi tested Iker Casillas.

Xavi and Iniesta crucial

Even though the Germans were pushing forward, the Spanish continued to create chances with Xavi and Iniesta playing a key role. Xavi took a superb free-kick which Ramos was about to put away when Lehman intervened, while Iniesta had fine chance to make it 2-0 only for the German keeper to save again.

Xavi, Iniesta and Puyol win Euro 2008

Neither side was prepared to sit back and accept the result, with the Germans desperately trying to equalise and Spain seeking the goal that would put them virtually out of sight. In spite of the efforts of the Germans, Spain created lots of chances playing excellent football and Joachim Low’s men were unable to get the goal they needed. After 90 intense minutes of attacking football, Spain won the European Championship for the first time in 44 years, marking the end of a tournament in which Iniesta, Xavi and Puyol have given fine performances.
Xavi, Iniesta and Puyol, champions of Europe
Germany, 0
Spain, 1

Germany: Lehmann, Friedrich, Schweinsteiger, Frings, Klose, Ballack, Hitzlsperfer (Kuranyi), Lahm (Jansen), Metesacker, Podoloski, Metzelder.

Spain: Casillas, Marchena, Puyol, Iniesta, Xavi Hernàndez, Torres (Güiza), Fàbregas (Xabi Alonso), Capdevila, Sergio Ramos, Senna, Silva (Santi Cazorla).

Goals: 0-1 Torres (m. 32)

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

Football News

Back to top
Top of page