Skip menu

Main menu

Content menu

Top of page


Link to related content


10.10.2007 14:02

Seven players on FIFA World Player list

Sandra Sarmiento/Sergi Nogueras

FC Barcelona have had seven players nominated on the shortlist for the 2007 FIFA World Player of the Year with the winner being announced at a ceremony on December 17.

The Blaugrana are out in front as the club side with the most players to make it on to the 30-man list to win the award as the most impressive player over the past 12 months.

fcblyon1_x3x.jpgThierry Henry, Lilian Thuram, Rafa Márquez, Deco, Samuel Eto'o, Lionel Messi and Ronaldinho are the seven names from Barça that have been chosen for the award by a FIFA committee. Now the coaches and captains of 208 national teams will vote for their top three favourites.

Ten from Spain and England

Only six of the 30 players ply their trade in Serie A, while the Premiership and la Primera provide ten each, three come from the Bundesliga and only Juninho Pernambucano plays in France.

Ronaldinho looking to level with Ronaldo

fcb-bilbao.jpgIf Ronaldinho wins the award then he will equal Ronaldo's record of winning the trophy on three occasions. The former Barça star was voted as the world's best play in 1996, 1997 and 2002. Ronaldinho has won it in 2004 and 2005.
Seven players on FIFA World Player list
Four Brazilans before
The FIFA World Player of the Year award was inaugurated in 1991 and since then four Barça players have won the honour and they were all Brazilian. Romario was first i 1994, then came Ronaldo in 1996, Rivaldo followed in 1999 and Ronaldinho has scooped the award twice, in 2004 and 2005.

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

Football News

Back to top
Top of page