Skip menu

Main menu

Content menu

Top of page


Link to related content


19.12.2009 19:03

The only one that was missing

Jordi Clos

From today, FC Barcelona have won every trophy they could. It is also the sixth title of 2009, the Clubs World Cup, setting an unprecedented record.

There’s new cup on show in the museum. And it’s a special one, the one that Barça had never won. In the United Arab Emirate, Barça put the icing on the cake of their best season ever, winning all six major competitions. La Liga, the Copa del Rey, the Spanish and European Super Cups, the Champions League and now the FIFA Clubs World Cup.


2009-12-16_PARTIDO_014.JPGBarça 2009 is the first team to win six trophies in such a fashion. The only team to ever manage such a full house was Ajax in 1972, managed by Marinus Michels and led by Johan Cruyff. They won the domestic double, plus the European Cup and Super Cup and the Intercontinental Cup. All that was missing was the Dutch Super Cup, which didn’t exist at the time.

Other clubs that have won five titles in a season are Liverpool 2001 and Manchester United 2008. But the Reds didn’t win the league in that glorious season, while United won everything apart from the FA Cup.

A big title

2009-12-16_PARTIDO_023.JPGThe Clubs World Cup has had a number of different names over the years, but Barça have never got their hands on it. In 1992 they missed out to Sao Paulo (2-1), and then in 2006, another Brazilian side, Inter of Porto Alegre beat the Catalans (1-0). The only two European ‘giants’ never to had their names on the cup were Liverpool and Barça. But from December 19, 2009, it is only the Merseysiders that are missing.
Images: Miguel Ruiz (FCB)
Images: Miguel Ruiz (FCB)
Honour list
Four titles: Milan

Three titles: Sao Paulo, Madrid, Peñarol, Boca Juniors and Nacional.

Two titles: Independiente, Juventus, Bayern, Ajax, Inter, Porto, Santos and Manchester United.

One title: Barça, Olimpia, Estudiantes, Gremio River Plate, Atlético Madrid, Borussia Dortmund, Red Star, Feyenoord, Flamengo, Velez, Racing, Inter de Porto Alegre and Corinthians.

Share with

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

Football News

Back to top
Top of page