Skip menu

Main menu

Content menu

Top of page


Link to related content


18.01.2008 12:54

Abidal named in uefa.com team of the year


Éric Abidal has been named in the uefa.com users' Team of the Year 2007 it was announced on Friday as the website revealed the 11 best players over the past 12 months.

mThe vote was cast by uefa.com readers, who were given a choice of several players in each position, and the Barça full-back won his place after 3.5million votes were made by 277,985 users.

Representing Barça

It is the first time that Abidal has won a place in the team and he is FC Barcelona's only representative in this year's eleven.

UEFA Champions League winners, AC Milan, led the way with three players as Kaká, Alessandro Nesta and Clarence Seedorf were included. Liverpool saw Steven Gerrard named, while Chelsea have John Terry and Didier Drogba included. The other players in the team are Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), Dani Alves (Sevilla), Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United) and Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Inter), while Sir Alex Ferguson was voted in as manager.

Started in 2001

The first time that users of uefa.com voted for their best team of the year was in 2001. The system has remained the same with the website nominating 60 players and users then vote for their favourite eleven.
Abidal named in uefa.com team of the year

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

Football News

Back to top
Top of page