Skip menu

Main menu

Content menu

Top of page


Link to related content


04.01.2008 12:05

Sevilla play Barça in the cup

David Saura

FC Barcelona will play against Sevilla in the last 16 of the Copa del Rey following the draw on Friday afternoon. The second leg will take place in Camp Nou on January 16.

The game between the Blaugrana and the cup holders is the pick of the round as Frank Rijkaard's side will face a stern test against Manolo Jiménez's outfit. With the first game being played in the Sánchez Pizjuán on January 9, Barça will have home advantage in the second game a week later.

African Nations

knt2.jpgBoth teams will be without certain players for both matches as Barça and Sevilla will lose their stars to the African Cup of Nations after the weekend. The Blaugrana see Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon) and Touré Yaya (Ivory Coast) be away, while Frédéric Kanouté and Seydou Keita (both Mali) and Arouna Koné (Ivory Coast) will go from Sevilla.


Due to the date of the return leg, Barça will now play three consecutive home games as they face Murcia on January 13 and Racing Santander on January 20 at Camp Nou, with the cup game in between.

Previous meetings

Barcelona and Sevilla have met on ten occasions in the Copa del Rey before, with the Blaugrana having seven victories to their name. The last time the teams met was during the 1990/91 campaign when Johan Cruyff's team won 3-0 in Camp Nou then when one better as they won 4-0 in Seville.

Recre or Villarreal next

vilareal_12.jpgThe winner of this tie will face the win of the tie between Recreativo and Villarreal in the quarter finals and if Barça are victorious, then the second leg would be in the Camp Nou.
Sevilla play Barça in the cup
Last 16 (January 9 and 16)

Recreativo - Vilarreal
Sevilla – FC Barcelona
Zaragoza - Racing
Mallorca - Real Madrid
Athletic Club - Espanyol
Betis - Valencia
At. Madrid - Valladolid
Getafe - Levante

Quarter final (January 23 and 30)

Winner of Recreativo - Vilarreal against the winner of Sevilla – FC Barcelona
Winner of Betis - Valencia against the winner of At.Madrid - Valladolid
Winner of Getafe - Levante against the winner of Mallorca - Real Madrid
Winner of Zaragoza - Racing against the winner of Athletic Club – Espanyol

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

Football News

Back to top
Top of page