Skip menu

Main menu

Content menu

Top of page


Link to related content


05.06.2007 11:00

Two wins in last three finals

Berta Brau

Tonight’s Copa Catalunya Final will be the fourth in a row that has featured the two biggest clubs in the city, Barça and Espanyol.

Barcelona won two of those meetings, but the last time the sides met in the competition, it was Espanyol that lifted the trophy.

First win under Rijkaard

equip_amb_copa.jpgThe first of those finals was in 2003, the 15th edition of the tournament. Barça had several new players and a new coach and immediately demonstrated the kind of attacking football that would be characteristic of this team, while Espanyol were content to sit back and wait for chances to play the counter-attacking game. Barça scored the only goal after 59 minutes in a move that started with a Ronaldinho free kick. It was the same player who latched onto a loose ball following a scuffle on the edge of the area, and deftly placed the ball in the back of the net

Goals from Deco and Ronaldinho

22-08-04_Web_Ronaldinho_02.jpgBarça retained the title the following year. Rijkaard picked a strong side and once again opted to employ an attacking formation. It paid off, with Deco putting Barça a goal up after 21 minutes. Espanyol’s valiant efforts to equalise failed to bear fruit, and a Ronaldinho free kick in the second half secured the title (2-0).

Narrow defeat

qm3d7897.jpgThe following season, Espanyol got their revenge. Barça had umpteen chances to win the match, but luck was not on their side, and the only goal of the night came in the 38th minute when Coro beat Jorquera. Motta missed a golden chance to equalise, but his effort on the face of the goal inexplicably found its way over the crossbar.

Two wins in last three finals
Barça seek sixth Catalan crown
Barça lead the way in terms of Copa Catalunya titles, with five. They have appeared in the finals of no fewer than eleven of the seventeen editions played to date. Espanyol have won the trophy four times, and Terrassa and Europa have won it twice.

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

Football News

Back to top
Top of page