Skip menu

Main menu

Content menu

Top of page


Link to related content


19.06.2009 12:44

Navarro closing in on the record


Juan Carlos Navarro has five Liga ACB titles to his name, the most of any current player, and is just two away from equalling the impressive records of Epi and Jiménez.

After a year away playing for the Memphis Grizzlies, the Catalan player known as La Bomba returned to Barça last summer with the intention of helping the club to continue winning trophies and he has been able to do just that. With Navarro an instrumental figure, the Blaugrana won the Liga ACB for 2008/09 and that meant that the player himself chalked up his fifth triumph in the competition.

Before winning the league on Thursday, Navarro had been a champion in 1998/99, 2000/2001, 2002/2003 and 2003/2004. Now he is just two league wins away from having the same number as Barça's most successful players, Epi and Jiménez.

Lakovic’s fifth

Jaka Lakovic also has five domestic league titles under his belt, but the only Liga ACB he has was won this season. His previous four triumphs came with Panathinaikos when they won consecutive titles between 2002/03 and 2005/06.

Six-in-a-row for Andersen

QM3D3182.jpgDavid Andresen eclipses that achievement though as he is the Barça Regal player with the most championships to his name having won seven titles. The Australian won the Russian league with CSKA on four occasions before lifting the Italian title twice with Montepaschi and then Virtus. In fact, he has won six consecutive titles.

The second for Sada, Grimau and Santiago

QM3D3355.jpgFurther bac in the medals stakes ar Víctor Sada and captain Roger Grimau who have won just two league titles each. Daniel Santiago has also won the Liga CAB twice having added this year's one with Basrça to the one he helped Unicaja win in 2005/06. He has also won the Italian league with Varese in 1998/99.

Basile has won his first Liga ACB, but he had previously won titles with Fortitudo in 1999/2000 and 2004/05.
Navarro closing in on the record
Youngest coach
Players such as Trias, Vázquez, Ilyasova, Barrett, Barton and Dedovic won their first title this season of their careers while coach Xavi Pascual became the youngest trainer to ever lift the Liga ACB championship.

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

Basketball News

Back to top
Top of page