Salta el menu

Language menu

Zamora award for Valdes again

Top of page


Link to related content


21.05.2011 20:55

Zamora award for Valdes again

The Zamora Trophy is awarded every season to the Spanish League goalkeeper with the best goals conceded record. This year, Victor Valdes has won the award for the fourth time in his career with the second best record in the league’s history.

Zamora award for Valdes again

Valdés, who was rested for the Malaga game, has conceded just 16 goals in 32 games to record an average of 0.5 goals a game over the season and take his fourth Zamora trophy and his third on the run.

Third on the run

Valdes has now won the award for the last three seasons with an average of 0,89 in 08/09 and 0,63 in 09/10 to add to his 04/05 win when he averaged 0.71 goals a game conceded.

Only bettered by Liaño

This year’s record of 0.50 goals a game has only ever been bettered by the Deportivo keeper Liaño in the 1993/4 season, when he averaged 0.47 a game. Valdes has now equalled the record of Juan Acuña and Santiago Cañizares who won the award on four occasions and is just one behind the legendary Andoni Ramallets.

Before he goes to match that record though, Victor Valdes has the small matter of the Champions League final at Wembley next week, where he will, as ever, offer Guardiola’s team a very safe pair of hands between the sticks.

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

Football News

Season 10-11

View full content

Official sponsors

Copyright - FCBarcelona | Legal Terms | Buy tickets FC Barcelona | This is the FC Barcelona official website

Follow us on: Facebook | Twitter | Youtube | RSS

Back to top
Top of page