Skip menu

Main menu

Content menu

Top of page


Link to related content


23.08.2009 23:55

The eight Super Cup triumph!

David Puig

FC Barcelona took their tally of Spanish Super Cups to eight on Sunday as they drew level with Real Madrid as the team to have won it the most times while already being the team to have appeared in most with 15.

The Blaugrana are now joint-leaders as the team to have won the trophy on the most occasions as before the game against Athletic Club in Camp Nou, they had seven wins from 14 finals to their name. The Spanish Super Cup, which is the traditional season curtain raiser pits the league champions against the Copa del Rey winners, has been going since 1982.

Success in the 90’s

sup_spain0506.jpgOf the eight triumphs to Barça's name, four of them came in the 1990's when the club was dominant for long periods as they lifted it in 1991/92, 1992/93, 1994/95 and 1996/97. The new millennium has also seen Barça enjoy success in the event as they have won the Super Cup in 2005/06, 2006/07 and now 2009/10. The only time that the club won the trophy in the 1980's came against Athletic Club also, in 1983/84.

Previous guises

The current format of the Spanish Super Cup was established in 1982 and is the successor to other trophies that saw the champions take on the cup winners. In 1940, the Copa de Campeones, as it was known, began but that changed to the Copa de Oro Argentina in 1945.

Soon after the competition took the name Copa Eva Duarte de Perón after the first lady of Argentina donated the trophy. Barça did well under that guise as they won the even in 1948/49,1951/52 and 1952/53.
The eight Super Cup triumph!
Winning teams
FC Barcelona 8
Real Madrid 8
Deportivo La Coruña 3
Atlético de Madrid 1
Valencia 1
Zaragoza 1
Athletic de Bilbao 1
Mallorca 1
Real Sociedad 1
Sevilla 1

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

Football News

Back to top
Top of page