Skip menu

Main menu

Content menu

Top of page


Link to related content


17.05.2010 12:19

Barça’s first Pichichi – Zamora double

Anna Segura

For the first time ever, Barça players have won the Pichichi and Zamora trophies in the same season, thanks to Messi’s amazing goalscoring skills and Valdés’ expertise between the sticks.

2009-07-22_VALDESx_MESSI_01.jpgFor the first time since the championship was created in 1929, FC Barcelona have both the player with the best goalkeeping record and the league’s top scorer in the same season. It is only the 12th time in 79 editions that both awards have gone to members of the same club.

Great stats for Valdés

FCB_-_ATLETICO_MADRID_x37x.JPGVíctor Valdés, who was already the virtual winner before the game with Valladolid, has played all 38 games this season, and only let in 24 goals, which adds up to a coefficient of 0.63, which has beaten his personal records in the other two seasons he picked up the award, 2008/09 when he got 0.89 and 2004/05, when he got 0.71.

Messi gets more silverware

2010-04-10_PARTIDO_20.JPGMessi’s personal trophy cabinet is filling up nicely, although this is the first time he has won the Pichichi for topping the Liga scoring lists. The Argentinian has run away with the title this year with an amazing 34 goals, seven more than his compatriot Higuaín. But what’s more, Messi has also been confirmed as the winner of the Golden Boot for being the top scorer in the European leagues.

Messi becomes the first FCB winner since Eto’o, who won in 2005/06 with 26 goals in 34 matches. And he has also equalled Ronaldo’s record for the most goals for Barcelona in a single league season.

16 seasons later

It has been 16 seasons since the Pichichi and Zamora were last won by the same club. That was in 1992/93 when Deportivo’s Bebeto was top scorer and Liaño, of the same club, was the best goalkeeper, although he shared the title with Cañizares, who was playing for Celta at the same time.
Barça’s first Pichichi – Zamora double
Equalling Madrid
The Zamora won by Valdés means Barça have now won this title as many times as Real Madrid. Both have had 17 winners, although in Madrid’s case these have been shared among 12 different keepers, while for Barça there have been 9.

Share with

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

Football News

Back to top
Top of page