Skip menu

Main menu

Content menu

Top of page


Link to related content


29.10.2008 19:04

Candidates for FIFA World Player


The Barça players Eto’o, Messi, Xavi and Iniesta have been named in the 23 man short list for the FIFA World Player Award for 2008. The winner will be announced on the 12th of January.

FIFA have announced this Wednesday a short list of the 23 candidates to be named player of the year for 2008. Amongst them are four FC Barcelona players; Samuel Eto’o, Leo Messi, Xavi Hernández and Andrés Iniesta.

The captains and coaches of national sides will be given the chance to choose their favourites and the top three will be named in December. The winner will be made public during FIFA’s annual gala that will take place on the 12th of January in the Zurich Opera House.

International recognition

FIFA’s recognition adds itself to that of the magazine ‘France Football’ and of the International Federation of Professional Football Associations. Eto’o, Messi and Xavi are in with a chance of winning the European Player of the Year Award whilst the same players, along with Henry, Iniesta and Puyol, are amongst the finalists for the FIFPro Award .
Candidates for FIFA World Player
Messi second in 2007

The AC Milan player Kaká was the winner of the 2007 FIFA World Player Award. The Brazilian, who is in the running again this year, beat Leo Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo into second and third place respectively.

The previous year, 2006, Ronaldinho (winner in 2004 and 2005), came third.

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

Football News

Back to top
Top of page