Skip menu

Main menu

Content menu

Top of page


Link to related content


20.10.2008 17:33

Barça heads FIFPro list


Puyol, Iniesta, Xavi, Eto’o, Henry, Messi, Ronaldinho, Deco and Zambrotta have all been shortlisted for the World Player of the Year 2007/08 award as chosen by professional footballers. Alves is also among the 55 nominees.

The Fédération Internationale des Associations de Footballers Professionnels (FIFPro) announced this Monday the 55 nominees shortlisted for the World Player of the Year title. Nine of them played for Barça in the 2007/08 season: Carles Puyol, Andrés Iniesta, Xavi Hernández, Samuel Eto’o, Thierry Henry, Lionel Messi, Deco, Gianluca Zambrotta and Ronaldinho. That means that Barça heads the list for the most nominations.

Also on the list is Dani Alves, who last year played for Seville.

Xavi, Eto’o and Iniesta are also candidates for the Golden Ball.

Winner to be announced on Monday the 27th

The 45,000 professional footballers belonging to the 42 professional organisations forming part of FIFPro around the world were given voting forms to choose who they thought were the best goalkeepers, defenders, midfielders and forwards in the 2007/08 season. The winner will be announced on Monday 27 October.
Barça heads FIFPro list
Kaka is most recent winner
Milan midfielder Kaka won the FIFPro award in the 2006/07 season. On the two previous occasions, in the first two editions of the award, Ronaldinho walked away with the prize.

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

Football News

Back to top
Top of page