Skip menu

Main menu

Content menu

Top of page


Link to related content


22.02.2008 14:23

Messi, best Iberian-American player

Aleix Santacana

Leo Messi has collected a trophy this Thursday from the EFE agency that accredits him as being the best Iberian-American player of the 2006-2007 season.

The presentation of the award took place in the Camp Nou, and involved the presence of EFE agency president, Álex Grijelmo; the president de la Liga de Futbol Professional, José Luis Astiazarán; the president of Futbol Club Barcelona, Joan Laporta; the vice president for sport at Barça, Marc Ingla; and Barça’s director of football, Txiki Begiristain.

Most consistent player

The EFE agency believes that Messi was the most consistent player of the past season. He played 26 league games and was given an average score of 6.53 a game, which means he takes the baton from previous winners of the award, who include Sevilla right back Dani Alves, and 2004 winner Ronaldinho.

messipremiefe_x8x.jpgThe president of the EFE agency, Álex Grijelmo, praised the way Messi plays and said he sets an example for all young people as “any kid, no matter what their size, can dream of becoming a world famous footballer”.

Laporta wanted to point out that “Messi is one of ours, he has been here for 12 years. He is an extraordinarily talented footballer who has grown up at Barça and who we hope to enjoy until the end of his career”.

A motivating trophy

messipremiefe_x4x.jpgMessi collected the trophy while watched by his parents and his captain Carles Puyol, and thanked his family for being there with him and commented that “this trophy gives me even more motivation to keep growing and learning”.

Messi, best Iberian-American player
Sixth Barcelona winner of trophy
Messi has won an award that was given to Pablo Aimar last year and becomes Barça’s sixth player to receive it. Brazilian Romario was the first in the 1993-1994 season, and after that came Ronaldo, Rivaldo, Saviola and Ronaldinho. Having won 6 of the 17 awards, Barça tops the ranking of clubs in terms of winners until now.

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

Football News

Back to top
Top of page