The sixth Asobal Cup

Skip menu

Main menu

Content menu

Top of page


Link to related content


25.06.2010 18:16

The sixth Asobal Cup

Barca Borges won the Asobal Cup in an exciting final against Ciudad Real. Pascual’s team needed extra time and a fantastic save by David Barrufet to lift the trophy for the sixth time in the Club’s history.

The Asobal Cup, which brought together the four best teams to fight for the last title of the 2009 campaign, was Barca’s third title of the season. Barca beat Reyno de Navarra San Antonio (28-32) in the semi-finals. The Navarrans put up a good fight throughout the 60 minutes and at halftime Barca held a narrow 15-16 lead. In the second half some splendid defensive work together with a lethal counterattack swung the game in Barca’s favour.

Last minute heroics from Barrufet

In the final Barca Borges came up against Ciudad Real for the third time in the season. At the break Barca Borges led a nail-biting affair 14-13. The second half was equally hard-fought and a Victor Tomas goal 21 seconds from time took the game to extra time. Neither side could pull ahead and with the scoreboard showing 34-33, Ciudad Real took the last throw of the game through Luc Abalo. David Barrufet made a wonderful save to bring the Cup back to Barcelona.
The sixth Asobal Cup

Share with

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

Table 2011/12

League table
Position Teams Pts
1 FC Barcelona Intersport 58
2 Atlético de Madrid 57
3 Reale Ademar León 44
4 Cuatro Rayas BM Valladolid 43
5 Caja 3 BM Aragón 32
6 Ciudad Encantada 31
7 Naturhouse La Rioja 29
8 Fraikin BM Granollers 26
9 Torrevieja 26
10 AMAYA Sport San Antonio 24
11 Huesca 22
12 Helvetia Anaitasuna 22
13 Academia Octavio 20
14 Quabit BM Guadalajara 18
15 Maygar BM. Antequera 17
16 Alser Puerto Sagunto 11
Full table