Salta el menu

Language menu

Copa del Rey: first champion ever

Top of page


Link to related content

News article on: Football

Image associated to news article on:  Copa del Rey: first champion ever
Among the best
In the Spanish Cup final in Segovia, Barça beat El Pozo Murcia, and in Toledo they got the better of Inter, confirming that FC Barcelona is now up there with the two teams that have dominated Spanish futsal in recent years.

Copa del Rey: first champion ever

FC Barcelona will always be remembered as the first team to win the futsal Copa del Rey, a tournament that the RFEF and LNFS set up this season using the same format as the football competition.

Barça were impeccable in this competition. Marc Carmona’s side reached the grand final in Toledo after five wins in five game s, four away from the Palau. They started against Second Division BP Andorra, who they also met in the semi finals of the Copa Catalunya. Wilde (2), Lin, Igor and Carlos got the goals as Barça won 2-5.

Three División d’Honor teams

Barça Alusport then had to win a tough derby away to Marfil, and won 0-2 in Santa Coloma with first half goals from Saad and Javi Rodriguez. The quarter finals brought another toughie for Barça Alusport, but they won 3-5 at the always difficult Benicarló.

The semi finals were two-legged, but Barça Alusport were enjoying the best moment of the season and sentenced the tie in the first leg by winning 2-9 at the Municipal de Lugo and back at the Palau they extended that by winning 6-1.

Final against Inter... and bad luck

_DSC8716.jpgBarça Alusport were proclaimed champions by beating Inter Movistar in Toledo (4-3). They had to overcome a tough opponent and injury problems to win in the last moments of overtime. It was a true champion’s performance against all the odds, in which collective effort won through in the end.

The side from Madrid went ahead and this setback was followed by an injury to goalkeeper Cristian. Paco Sedano replaced him and made some decisive saves. Wilde equalised 40 seconds before the break, but the bad luck returned when Fernandão scored an own goal and Chico and Wilde also retired injured.

Barça’s equaliser was a Schumacher own goal, to send things into overtime, where Inter went ahead again. When all seemed lost, Jordi Torras and Lin grabbed a goal each to clinch the game, the final and the title. Javi Rodríguez lifted the third trophy of the season. Many more teams will win the Copa del Rey, but the first ever will always be in the FCB Museum trophy cabinet.

Top of page

Back to top

Related content

League table 2011/12

League table
Position Teams Pts
1 ElPozo Murcia 79
2 FC Barcelona Alusport 74
3 Inter Movistar 64
4 Caja Segovia 49
5 Autos Lobelle de Santiago 47
6 Triman Navarra 45
7 Carnicer Torrejón 45
8 Umacon Zaragoza 43
9 Puertollano 39
10 Fisiomedia Manacor 37
11 OID Talavera 36
12 Ríos Renovables Ribera Navarra 33
13 Azkar Lugo F.S 29
14 Marfil Santa Coloma 28
15 Reale Cartagena 24
16 Benicarló FS 0
Full table

Official sponsors

Copyright - FCBarcelona | Legal Terms | Buy tickets FC Barcelona | This is the FC Barcelona official website

Follow us on: Facebook | Twitter | Youtube | RSS

Back to top
Top of page